Soups

Have you ever tried lettuce soup?

P1010791

I hadn’t ever had lettuce soup growing up and when my parents were here recently and I mentioned that I planned to make lettuce soup with some of the lettuces I have in my veg patch they both said they’d never had / heard of it. That made me think that a lot of our food choices are linked to our childhood experiences and families but luckily we also discover new things as we grow and move away from our families. The first time I had lettuce soup was in Bangkok over 20 years ago. A friend Liz made it and all I can remember now was my surprise that she’d made soup from lettuces. I’m sure it was delicious too! Apparently it’s a classic British summer dish.

P1010784

I’ve got a lot of lettuces and loads of rocket growing in the garden at the moment so I decided to make lettuce soup (with rocket) today. I started by frying a chopped medium-sized onion and a sliced, large potato and a couple of cloves of garlic in a pan until the onion became translucent. You can use  half a dozen spring onions instead of a regular onion if you prefer. To this I added half a teaspoon of celery salt a friend had made and given me.

P1010787

To this I added about 1.5 liters of stock and brought this to the boil then covered and simmered it for about 10 – 15 mins until the potatoes began to soften. I then added my lettuce and rocket. It was quite a big bowlful but it soon shrunk in the hot water.

P1010788

I covered the pan again and simmered it for about 5 mins. I then let it stand for a while before blending it. I don’t relay like blending boiling hot things in case they splash. I then reheated the soup and served it garnishing it with a blob of homomade yoghurt (optional) and a spring onion flower (FTG). The soup can be served hot or chilled depending on your preference. It has a subtle flavor and makes a great lunch or starter. If you’ve never had lettuce soup before why not give it a go!

P1010790

Standard

2 thoughts on “Have you ever tried lettuce soup?

Leave a Reply

