Veggie mains

Veggies and cheese with ‘oven’ chips and tasty green beans

P1010936This is a nice simple meal that I think would make a good family meal, I think my nieces and nephew would enjoy it (the veggies and cheese and chips at least)! The quantities here are enough for two so multiply as necessary.

First turn the oven on to 200 degrees C / 400 degrees F. Put a baking sheet / roasting pan in the oven with some vegetable oil in it to warm up. You don’t need much oil at all just enough to thinly cover the pan. To make the ‘oven’ chips take one largish washed potato per serving and cut it in half then cut each half into ‘segments’ like this.P1010911

Rinse and dry the chips and cover them in tea towel to stop them browning. As soon as the oven and oil is hot put the chips in the baking tin and toss them in the oil and put them in the oven. Leave them for about 30 mins before opening the oven and start making the other dishes.

P1010913

We have fresh green beans and lots of cherry tomatoes growing at the moment so I decided to combine these in a side dish, along the lines of beans provencal. I sliced a medium onion and fried it in olive oil until it began to soften and then I added a couple of cloves of crushed garlic and continued to fry them until the garlic started to brown and then I added about a cupful of cherry tomatoes.

P1010915

Next I added my green beans and some herbs de provence, you could use regular mixed herbs if that’s what you have. Then I added about half a cup of water and covered the pan and left them to simmer for about 20 mins, on a low heat stirring occasionally. When everything is cooked through and most of the water has evaporated they are done.

P1010930

For the veggies and cheese I made a mushroom cheese sauce by frying about 100 grams of mushrooms (I used small Eryngii mushrooms, button mushrooms would be fine) in some olive oil as they were cooking I added a clove of crushed garlic and then added some butter. Once the butter had melted I added a heaped tablespoon of plain flour and mixed this into the butter and mushrooms and then added a couple of cups of milk and some salt and pepper and stirred. As the sauce began to thicken I added a good handful of grated cheddar cheese and mixed this into the sauce.

P1010917

While making the sauce I also lightly steamed some broccoli (one good sized head cut into florets) and about 10 spears of asparagus (these were the veggies that looked nice and fresh at the market today other good choices are cauliflower or leeks). The asparagus only needs a very short steam so that it will retain its crunch.

P1010920

Next put in your veggies in a greased ovenproof dish. I put in my asparagus whole but realized later this made serving a bit tricky, but it was still nice to have whole asparagus in the dish, you could chop it into smaller pieces if you preferred. Then I put the broccoli florets on top of the asparagus and poured over the mushroom and cheese sauce and finally sprinkled the top with more grated cheese and some ground pepper.

P1010922

This can go in the oven with the chips which should be ready to be turned now. The veggie cheese will take about 30 mins to cook until it’s browned on the top.

P1010927

The chips should be ready too, nice and golden and crisp. I put mine in a fancy stack and seasoned them with salt and pepper. Once everything is done put the dishes on the table and tuck in!

P1010934My little sister’s copy ‘oven’ chips…

Carys chips

Standard

2 thoughts on “Veggies and cheese with ‘oven’ chips and tasty green beans

  1. Pingback: Filo pastry tarts with red onions, broccoli, goat’s cheese and stilton | copymydinner

Leave a Reply

