Baking, Something sweet

Rich fruit scones

P1020020

I think scones must be in my blood as my mother’s mother or “Nain” in Welsh  had a tea rooms in North Wales (before I was born) apparently when my parents moved into the 16th Century cottage I we grew up in she warned my mum against doing teas in her quaint cottage. I remember when I moved into my first flat in Brighton over 20 years ago my other grandparents, Nana and Poppy, came to visit and I made scones (without a recipe but with a hangover as I recall) and my Nana said they were the best scones she had ever tasted! I’m sure she was just being kind to her grandson but I felt good anyway. The two sides of my family pronounce “scones” differently, the Welsh side pronounce the vowel sound with a short “on” like on / off the Southern English side, and I, pronounce a longer sound like in “owe”. Here in Thailand it’s not easy to just go to the shop and buy scones so I make them at home occasionally. I also make Welsh cakes, which are yummy too! I will do a post on these soon.

So what do you need? (for 10 – 12 scones)

  • 225 grams of plain flour  + 2 tsps. of baking powder (or 225 grams of self-raising flour)
  • 50 grams of butter (if your butter is unsalted you will need a good pinch of salt)
  • 50 grams of sugar
  • 50 grams of sultanas or raisins
  • 1 small egg
  • 100ml of milk

What do you do?

Pre-heat your oven to 200 degrees C / 400 F.

Sift the flour, baking powder into a bowl and add the sugar . Cut the butter into cubes and then quickly with your finger tips rub the butter into the flour, it will become like breadcrumbs. Don’t mix it more than you have to. Next add the dried fruit. It will look something like this.

P1010996

In a small jug or bowl beat the egg and then pour in the milk and mix them together. Pour over half of this mixture into the large mixing bowl with the flour mix and stir it in. The mixture should start to come together. You will probably need to add a bit more of the liquid until it forms a softish dough, similar to bread dough. Reserve some of the milk and egg mixture to glaze the top of your scones. You don’t want to overwork the mixture at any point during the process. Place the dough on a floured surface and roll it out so it’s about 2.5 cms thick. Then with a floured cookie cutter about 5-6 cms in diameter cut out your scones and place them on a floured baking sheet. Re-do this for any excess dough. Using a brush glaze the top of the scones with the remaining milk and egg mixture.

P1010999

Bake your scones for 12-15 minutes until golden brown. Enjoy with thickened cream, I explain how I make this here, and jam. Today I used homemade roselle jam that I made a while go. The classic of course is strawberry jam. Enjoy with a cup of tea.

P1020018

Standard

2 thoughts on “Rich fruit scones

  1. I was there in Brighton that day! I seem to remember you had dyed your hair that weekend?! 😂 Anyway the scones were truly scrumptious but we never heard the last of them. Even to this day Dad asks why none of us can bake scones like Clyde #goldenboy 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Plain scones | copymydinner

Leave a Reply

