Preserves, The Basics

Homomade tomato sauce

I have a lot of tasty tomatoes growing in the garden at the moment so I decided to use some of them to make tomato sauce. It does not taste the same as commercial tomato sauce, but it’s delicious.

In a deep frying pan with a lid I started by frying a chopped onion in some olive oil, then I added a couple of cloves of crushed garlic. While these were cooking I chopped up my tomatoes, probably about a kilo. I added a teaspoon of salt, a couple of tablespoons of brown sugar, probably about 3 tablespoons of apple cider vinegar, a dried chili and a couple of bay leaves. A lot of juice came out of the tomatoes and I covered the pan and let them simmer until they were soft, about 10 minutes. Then I removed the bay leaves and the chili (if you want a spicy sauce you can leave the chilli in).

Next I liquidized the tomato mixture and strained it through a sieve into a tick-based saucepan. I made sure I got as much liquid as possible through the sieve by stirring it.

Then I put the pan on the heat and simmered it for about 15 mins to thicken up the sauce. You can taste the sauce and adjust the flavorings to your liking. Finally, I bottled it in a sterilized bottle that I had rinsed in boiling water.

Standard

5 thoughts on “Homomade tomato sauce

  1. Pingback: Beet Burgers | copymydinner

  2. Pingback: Ricotta & spinach balls | copymydinner

  3. Pingback: Savoury sesame eggy bread | copymydinner

  4. Pingback: Sesame eggy bread | copymydinner

  5. Pingback: Arancini / risotto patties | copymydinner

Leave a Reply

