Veggie mains

Beetburgers

IMG_2542

A few people have asked me when I’m going to put a veggie burger recipe on my blog and so here we go….

There are so many veggie burger recipes out there and over the past 30+ years I’ve been a vegetarian (I must have been a vegetarian from birth I hear you saying) I’ve tried a fair few. My main gripes with many of them are that they are too soggy / mushy, disinergrate when you cook them, or lack any depth of flavor. Over the past couple of years I’ve been trying out various burgers with beetroot in them, with some turning out better than others but generally I like the earthy flavor and the texture and colour the beetroot brings to the burgers. So here’s a simple beetburger recipe (which has a few stages which shouldn’t be rushed) that I think does the job. The oats seem to be the magic ingredient that help bind the mixture and absorb any excess moisture.

So what do you need? (for 4-5 burgers)

  • 1 smallish onion (finely) chopped)
  • 2 or 3 coves of crushed garlic
  • 1 raw beetroot (grated)
  • 1 – 400g tine of red kidney beans (drained)
  • 1 free range egg (beaten)
  • 1/2 cup of porridge oats
  • sea salt / pepper and 1/2 tsp of chilli powder
  • 2 tbps sesame seeds
  • some wholemeal flour
  • some vegetable oil

So what do you do?

Start by frying the onion in some olive oil, as it starts to soften add the garlic. While this is cooking grate the beetroot and add this and some salt (a few good grinds) and cook until it softens a little. Put the beans in a mixing bowl and mash them up (I use a potato masher) and add the egg. Next add the oats and the beetroot and onion mixture and half the sesame seeds and mix it all up. It will form a thickish paste.

P1020404

Put this in the fridge for an hour or more this allows the oats to do their magic. Then form the burgers I have some rings that I think as meant for frying eggs that I use for this (and for making crumpets).

P1020415

Another key trick, if you don’t like mushy burgers, is not to make them too thick. I think 1 1/2 cm is about right (2cm is too thick and mushy for me). I put the metal ring on a floured baking sheet and spoon in some of the mixture. I press this down and sprinkle on some sesame seeds and some flour and then place them on a tray and put them back in the fridge for 30 mins, or longer.

P1020420

Then in a frying pan put in a reasonable amount of oil to cover the pan and heat this up until it is pretty hot and then fry the burgers (this stage seals them and helps stop them falling apart) and turn them over. While you are doing this heat a griddle pan (or do the next stage on a BBQ).

P1020422

Then finish the burgers off on a hot griddle pan or BBQ to give them a charred flavour.

P1020432

Serve with you favourite relishes and salad items. Here I’ve used my homemade tomato sauce, some salad and mayonnaise. I hope you enjoy them and please let me know what you think.

IMG_2540

Standard

3 thoughts on “Beetburgers

  1. Pingback: Veggie sausage rolls | copymydinner

  2. Pingback: Beetballs | copymydinner

Leave a Reply

