Soups, Veggie mains

Quick leek and potato soup

P1020825

I love leek and potato soup and it’s even better if you have some left over Stilton cheese to put in it. I wanted to make this quickly so I decided to grate the potato rather than cut it into chunks, this probably halves the cooking time if you are in a rush. If you prefer chunks of potato in your soup and have more time then just cube the potatoes and cook for an extra 10 minutes. This makes enough soup for two as a main meal.

I started by putting the kettle on to boil some water. Then I cleaned and copped two leeks and fried them gently some butter, in a thick based saucepan, with some salt. I covered them and allow them to sweat a bit and soften, while they were cooking I peeled and grated a large potato and then added this to the pan along with some ground pepper and fried it for about a minute, keep stirring otherwise the potato will stick. Then I poured boiling water into the saucepan about 1 or 2cm above the veg water and added about 1/2 tsp of marmite, or you could use veggie stock. I covered the saucepan and let it simmer for about 10 mins. The potato will have then cooked. Then I added about a cup of milk and some Stilton cheese and covered and simmered for another 5 mins. Finally, I checked the seasoning and added some chopped dill to the soup and then served it with garlic bread.

Standard

Leave a Reply

