Veggie mains

Bean, leek & potato curry with chapatis

P1020869

This curry was the result of going to the market and buying lots of different veg that looked good then deciding what to make afterwards. The curry turned out to be more Sri Lankan style than Indian, light and fresh showcasing the delicious vegetables.

I started by making the dough for my chapatis I put about a cup of plain bread flour and about half a cup of whole meal flour in a mixing bowl and added a good pinch of salt, a little oil and some warm water, enough to bind it together into a dough. I kneaded the dough on a floured surface for a couple of minutes until it became soft and putty like then left it to stand covered with a tea towel.

Next I started the curry, I started but chopping a couple of potatoes (with their skins) into cubes and parboiling them in salted water. Then I chopped up about six skinny leeks, probably equivalent to two large leeks, and gently fried them in some oil in a thick bottomed saucepan. I pounded 2 or 3 of cloves of garlic and some fresh ginger (about an equal quantity to the garlic) with some salt and a dried chilli in my pestle and mortar. I added this to the leeks and fried them a little more and then added a splash of water and covered them and allowed them to sweat a little. When the potatoes had been boiling for about 10 mins I drained them and added them to the leeks along with a tsp of turmeric and a tsp of mustard seeds and some fresh curry leaves. I fried the curry gentle for a minute or so then added 100ml of coconut milk and about a dessert bowl of chopped green beans and covered and simmered everything for about 5 minutes or so, stirring occasionally, until the beans were cooked. If it starts to dry out too much you can add  a little water.

P1020839

While the curry was cooking I heated a caste iron griddle, rolled out the chapatis (about 4 large chapatis) and cooked them on the hot griddle until they started to brown on each side.

P1020847

I served the curry with homomade plain yoghurt and mango chutney.

Standard

One thought on “Bean, leek & potato curry with chapatis

Leave a Reply

