Edible gifts, Preserves, Something fruity

Mango & passion fruit conserve

IMG_3638

I don’t like overly sweet sugary set jams so I make fruit conserve which is more runny and fruity.

For this batch I used about 2.5kg of ripe mango chunks (from about 3kg of mangos) and about 500g of sugar and the pulp of about a dozen passion fruit and the zest and juice of a couple of limes. Which I put in a large saucepan and heated up. I also put the lime seeds in a piece of muslin that I tied up and boiled with the fruit as these have pectin in them which will help set the conserve, but you don’t need to do this. I suspect the passion fruit seeds may do the trick anyway. Bring the fruit mix to the boil then simmer for over an hour until it starts to thicken and the mango is cooked and starts to break down. I like it when these are still some mango pieces in the conserve. As it thickens you need to stir it more regularly so it doesn’t catch and burn.

While it’s cooking sterilize some jars in boiling water (about 5 or 6 jam jars should be enough). I then put them in a warm oven to dry out. Once the jam has thickened you can ladle it into the jars and seal them. If you plan to keep it for a long time it’s a good idea to put a disk of baking parchment on top of the conserve before putting the lid on the jar as this will stop any air getting to the conserve and it will keep longer. I also make this with pineapple and passion fruit using the flesh of 3 or 4 pineapples I don’t add lime to the pineapple version as they already have a sourness of their own. Homemade conserve makes a great gift.

Standard

Leave a Reply

