Veggie mains

Mushroom & butter bean casserole with garlic and dill dumplings

IMG_4092

This makes a wholesome veggie meal for four all in one pot. I remember in France as a young child having a casserole with butter beans in it, I think it also had lamb but is the beans that I remember soft and creamy.

For this casserole I used about 500g of mixed fresh mushrooms, 20g of dried porcini mushrooms, a can of butter beans and about 1 kilo or more of other veg. I used a red onion, a carrot, some daikon radish (which gives a nice sweet flavor to the gravy) other root veg such as turnip or swede would work well too, a small cauliflower and some green beans, courgettes work well too added with the cauliflower.

I started by frying the onion in some olive oil, then I added the fresh mushrooms, chopped into chunks and several coves of crushed garlic and some celery salt, and fried them for a while until the mushrooms strafed to release their juices and reduce down. Then I added a glass of white wine, the porcini mushrooms and a bouquet garnis and the chopped carrot and radish and covered the veg with boiling water and put the lid on the casserole and simmered for about 10 minutes. Meanwhile I turned my oven on to about 180 degrees C / 350 F. and made the dumplings. I crushed a couple of cloves of garlic and added them to about 120g of plain (all purpose) flour and 1/2 tsp of baking powder and seasoned it with salt and pepper and added some chopped fresh dill. Then I mixed in 60g of butter with my fingers to form breadcrumbs and added a little milk to bring the mixture together (keeping it quite dry) and formed these into little balls.

IMG_4071

Then I added the chopped cauliflower, green beans and butter beans to the casserole along with about a third of a cup of cream (you can add half a cup of cream if you want it creamier) and a teaspoon of Dijon mustard, some ground black pepper and some chopped fresh dill. I mixed everything together and ensured that the liquid still covered all the veg and put the casserole in the oven with the lid on for about 20-25 mins. Then I took the casserole out and placed the dumplings on the top and put the casserole back in the oven for about 10 mins with the lid on and then turned the oven onto grill and removed the lid and cooked it for another 10 mins to brown the dumplings a little. I served it straight from the dish with a garnish of fresh dill.

IMG_4074

Standard

One thought on “Mushroom & butter bean casserole with garlic and dill dumplings

  1. Pingback: Veggie stew with pulses | copymydinner

Leave a Reply

