Veggie mains

Baked portobello mushrooms, stewed lentils & roast potatoes

I’ve made meals on long this theme several times, sometimes I make mashed potatoes, sometimes I stuff the mushrooms with blue cheese.  It’s quite a good meal for meat eaters as the baked mushrooms are quite meaty.

I started by turning the oven on to 200 degrees C / 400 F and boiling some water to start the potatoes in. I chopped the potatoes into thirds and then boiled them for about 10 mins. Then I put them in a pre- heated roasting tray with oil in it.

Meanwhile I started the lentils, which will serve 3-4 people. First I fried a chopped onion in olive oil and the added a couple of cloves of garlic and then a chopped bulb of fennel (you can use some celery instead if you prefer). I added a good pinch of (celery) salt and fried until they were softened. Then I added a carrot chopped into small cubes and added a glass of red wine (optional) some hot water and about cup of brown lentils and some ground pepper, mixed herbs and bay leaves and covered the pan and simmered for about 25 mins. If you prefer you can use a can of cooked lentils but add these at the next stage. When the carrots are tender I added some chopped green beans and cooked for 5 more minutes.

While they were cooking I made some garlic and herb butter (use garlic, mixed herbs, a little salt and olive oil for a vegan version) which I smeared in the mushrooms. I put them on a baking sheet and when the potatoes had been in the oven about  20 mins I put the mushrooms in the oven too. The mushrooms will take about 40 mins to cook. Once the potatoes start to turn golden turn them a couple of times.

Just before the potatoes and mushrooms are done taste the lentil mixture and season as necessary and then thicken with some gravy powder, if you like a thickened gravy. Plate up your meal and enjoy!

Standard

4 thoughts on “Baked portobello mushrooms, stewed lentils & roast potatoes

  1. Pingback: Roasted whole cauliflower | copymydinner

  2. Pingback: Roast cauliflower | copymydinner

  3. Pingback: Leftovers stew | copymydinner

Leave a Reply

