Soups

Spiced pumpkin soup

This is a soup I make a lot especially when I want something easy and hearty to feed a big group. It has quite a kick so go easy on the chilli unless you like it spicy! Usually I roast the pumpkin first with spices, as this intensifies the flavours, but if I am in a hurry I fry it with the onion, garlic and spices first. The quanties here will make 4-6 servings (depending on whether this is your main meal or a starter) multiply to whatever number you need to feed!Start by pre-heating your oven to 200 degrees C / 400 F. I begin with just over a kilo of pumpkin which I peel and deseed it to leave about 800g of flesh which I cut into large chunks. I put them in a roasting tin with a little (coconut) oil. The I then pound half a tsp of each of the following: coriander seeds, cumin seeds, cinnamon, black pepper corns and a tsp of sea salt with a pestle and mortar. I sprinkle this and a tsp of turmeric over the pumpkin and mix it up and add 1 or 2 dried chillies. I put this in the oven for about 15 mins to start to cook then I add a large red onion cut into chunks and a few cloves of garlic and cook for another 15 -20 minutes, until the onion had softened and the pumpkin has shrunk in size.Then I put this in a blender with a handful of chopped fresh coriander and about 800ml of water and blend it until it’s smooth. I put it in a saucepan and add 150ml of coconut milk (you can use regular milk instead if you prefer) and heat it through, taste and season if necessary. Garnish with some coconut milk, chilli oil or plain yoghurt and some coriander leaves. I served mine with homemade, rye & pumpkin seed sourdough.

Standard

One thought on “Spiced pumpkin soup

Leave a Reply

