Baking, Edible gifts, Something fruity, Something sweet

Blackberry & apple pie

This is a classic pudding that is remember from my childhood along with blackberry & apple crumble. I made two pies while I was at it a small one above to give away, which served two or three people, and a larger one below which served five. If you just want to make one large pie use 2/3 of the quantities, but it’s great to give someone a pie.

Start by making your pastry I used 600g of sifted plain (all purpose) flour and 220g of cold unsalted butter and a pinch of salt. I mixed these together in my food processor until they became breadcrumb-like then I added about 3 or 4 tbs of cold water and mixed again until the pastry became a firm malleable dough. I put this in a plastic bag in the fridge for about 20 mins while I made the filling. At this stage you can pre-heat your oven to 220 degrees C / 425F.

We don’t have fresh blackberries in Thailand so I used 200g of frozen blackberries (we do have mulberries and I use these when they are in season) which I put in a pan with about 150g sugar and the juice of half a lime (lemon is fine) and warmed until the sugar dissolved in the blackberry juice and then turned off the heat. Then I peeled, cored and sliced 600g of apples. I used Granny Smiths as we can’t get cooking apples here. As I sliced them I put them into the blackberry pan and stirred them into the juice. Then I grease two pie dishes one about 26 cm across and the other about 20cms. I took the pastry out of time fridge I used over a quarter to roll out to line my larger pie dish, and about a quarter to one the smaller dish. The pastry doesn’t have to be perfect you can fix any tears but squeezing it back together. Then I put the cooled fruit and juices in the lined pie tins and used half the remaining pastry to cover the smaller pie. I brushed the edge of the lining pastry with milk and sealed the top on and made a air vent in the middle, by cutting a small slit with a knife.

For the larger pie I rolled out the remaining pastry and cut it in strips and made a latticed top. You can use any left over pastry to decorate the top of the fully covered pie. Then I brushed the top of the pies with milk and sprinkled on a little sugar and put them in the oven. After about 10 mins I turned the oven down to 200 degrees C / 400 F and cooked them for another 25-30 mins until the pastry was golden brown and the filling was bubbling. Serve hot with custard or warm with cream, or vanilla ice cream. Yummy!

Standard

2 thoughts on “Blackberry & apple pie

Leave a Reply

