Soups

Sweetcorn soup

corn soup

This is inspired by my cousin Kirsten who makes it for our family gathering on Boxing Day to warm everyone up after a walk. I’ve only experienced this a couple of times as I’m usually in Thailand but it’s certainly become a family tradition. It’s great to make in the summer too with fresh corn, which retains a nice crunch. This recipe makes enough for about 4 bowls so multiply if you want to make enough for a  family gathering!

I started by chopping a medium-sized onion and frying it in some butter with 1/2 – 1 tsp of (celery) salt while this was frying I peeled and grated a potato (about 250g) then added this to the onion, which had started to soften, and added 1/2 tsp of turmeric powder and fried this for about a minute stirring so the potato didn’t stick. Then I poured in boiling water to about 2cms above the vegetables. I put in a couple of bay leaves, some pepper and 1/2 tsp of marmite (or add some veg stock powder / cube) and covered the pan and simmered for about 10-15 minutes. I removed the kernels from 2 medium sized cobs of corn which gave me over 300g of kernels. I added this to the pan with a couple of tsp chopped fresh herbs, I used coriander and dill. I covered the put and simmered for another 10 minutes and then added about a cup of milk and simmered the soup for another 5 minutes. Taste the soup and adjust seasoning as necessary.I made a herb oil (optional) in my mortar and pestle by pounding some of the herbs I used in the coup with a  little salt until they became a paste about 1 tsp and then added a couple of tbsp of olive oil. I served the soup with a drizzle of herb oil, you could drizzle in some cream instead if you prefer.

Standard

Leave a Reply

