Soups

Avocado soup with nachos & salsa

ad soup 1

This is a great soup to make if you have plenty of ripe avocados available, they’re in season here now and are being sold at the corner of our street at a small stall. You can serve the soup warm or cold but I like it warm topped with nachos and melted cheese on top. It makes a meal in itself and is a great lunch. For two good bowls you will need 600ml of hot stock. I made a light veggie stock from leek tops, some chopped daikon radish (you could use half a carrot) a couple of cloves of garlic, half a tsp of salt and some pepper corns and about a liter of water and brought it to the boil then simmered it for about 30 mins). While the stock was simmering I made my salsa in a mortar, first I crushed a clove of garlic with some salt and then I added a small red chilli and crushed this too, next I added 2 chopped ripe tomatoes and the pounded this together. Next I added a chopped spring onion, some coriander leaves, the juice of half a lime and a tablespoon of chilli (olive) oil, plain extra virgin olive oil would be fine and mixed this together.

ad soup salsa

Then I turned on my grill to a high heat. Next I drained the excess juice from the salsa into my blender and added a the juice of the rest of the lime and a couple of tablespoons of olive oil. To this I added 600ml of the hot stock and the flesh of 3 avocados and blended this together until it was smooth and quite thick. Taste the soup and add some more salt if necessary. If it’s too thin add another avocado, you can add a couple of heaped tablespoons of natural yoghurt to the soup too if you like. Maybe taste it first and see what you think, it should be pretty rich from the avocados anyway, but it will vary depending on your stock and the avocados you use.

Then pour the soup into bowls and pile some nachos on top and sprinkle over some grated cheese, I used mozzarella, and put them under the grill for a few minutes until the cheese melts and goes golden brown. Garnish the soup with salsa and some thick plain yoghurt / sour cream and coriander leaves and enjoy!

ad soup 2

Standard

Leave a Reply

