Drinks, The Basics

Homogrown coffee

coffeeWe planted quite a few Arabica coffee bushes in our garden a few years back but have never previously harvested the beans. A few months ago I picked some ripe red beans and processed them by drying them in the sun then I hulled them and left them to dry again. I removed any excess flesh from the beans and then left them and almost forgot about them until today when I ran out of coffee! I dry roasted them in a pan until they cracked and turned dark brown. Then I ground them in my mortar and made a pot of coffee. I was surprised at how good it was so this year I’ll pick all the beans I can.

Unripe beans

Coffee beans

Standard

Leave a Reply

