Salads

Colourful, crunchy coleslaw

cloeslawI love homemade coleslaw and normally make quite a simple one but this is a more colourful version with more of a variety of veggies in it and has extra crunch from peanuts and sesame seeds. I also added some toasted cumin seeds too which brought a great deeper flavour to the coleslaw. I use half mayo and half natural yoghurt to make it a bit healthier too.

I started by toasting  a couple of handfuls of unsalted  & uncooked peanuts in a dry pan as they began to brown I added a tsp of cumin seeds (optional) and a couple of tablespoons of sesame seeds and lowered the heat a little and roasted these until the sesame seeds went golden and then I put these to one side to cool. Next I finely chopped half a red cabbage, half a white cabbage, a red onion and a bulb of fennel and put them all in a large mixing bowl, then I used a feeler to shave a carrot into strips (you can grate it if you prefer). I also added the nuts and seeds, some dill and the put in about 3 heaped tablespoons of mayonnaise and the same of plain yoghurt and a little squeeze of lime and a pinch of two of salt and mixed it together. I don’t like my coleslaw to be swimming in mayonnaise so add as much mayo & yoghurt as you like. I often serve coleslaw with homemade pizzas.

Any leftover veggies will make a nice stir fry another day.

stir fry

Standard

One thought on “Colourful, crunchy coleslaw

Leave a Reply

