Soups

Beetroot soup

beet soup

This makes a lovely colourful and healthy soup, a great lunch, starter, or light meal served with some fresh bread. This will make 4-6 portions and can be served hot or chilled.

beets

I started by frying a chopped red onion in olive oil and then I added 3 cloves of crushed garlic and some salt and ground pepper. If you want some extra zing add some crushed, or grated, fresh ginger too about an equal quantity to the garlic. When they were softened I added 800g of grated (peeled) beetroot and 200g of grated radish. I have grown hybrid radishes by accident a cross between small salad radishes a large white daikon radishes, so I used these. They add a peppery sweetness to the soup.

I then added 1 liter of homemade vegetable stock, some chopped dill and a few bay leaves. I brought the soup to the boil and simmered for about 20 mins and allowed to cool a bit before taking out the bay leaves and blending it with a stick blender. You can use a liquidizer but just do a little at a time to avoid it splashing out. I then heated the soup through and tasted it. At this point season to your taste and add more stock if necessary. I served the soup with a dollop of sour cream (you can use yoghurt instead). I added a crushed clove of garlic, some chopped dill and a little salt and freshly grown pepper to a small (150g) pot of sour cream. I served it with onion focaccia bread.

Standard

Leave a Reply

