Edible gifts, Preserves, Something fruity

Spicy lime pickle

IMG_5500-0This is the first time I have tried making this, we’ve got so many limes this year I thought I’d give it a go. It’s a favourite of my dad’s but I’m not sure if it’ll last till I next see him! I more or less copied a recipe from Monsoon Spice (check out this blog for more beautiful photos of the process) but I increased the quantity as I had so many limes and also added some sugar at the end as it tasted so sour.

I chopped about 30 smallish thin-skinned Thai limes into eighths, taking out most of the pips, and layered them in a large class jar sprinkling a spoonful of crushed sea salt about 4 times as I filled up the jar.

IMG_5281I put this in the sun each day, shaking the jar once a day to coat the limes in the salty liquid, for a week until the limes changed to a golden colour and softened, it’s hot here in Chiang Mai, you might need to leave it in the sun longer in other places.

When the limes were ready I dry roasted about 3 tsp of fenugreek seeds and then ground them. In a saucepan large enough to hold all the limes I heated up 2 tbsp of sesame oil and added 3tsp of mustard sees, and 2 tsp of cumin seeds and heated them until the mustard seeds began to pop. The  I added 6 large cloves of crushed garlic and fried for a minute or so before adding 6 large sliced green chillies and a couple of handfuls of torn mustard leaves and I fried thee together for another minute. Then I added the limes and the liquid that they were in and heated them up. Next I added 3 tsp of turmeric powder and about 5 tsp of chilli powder (mine is very spicy so you may need a bit more) I brought this to the boil and then added about 6 tbsp. of sugar (optional) and then put the pickle into 4 sterilized jars. I allowed it to cool then sealed and labeled the jars. I’ll leave it for a couple of weeks before eating it to let the flavours develop.

Standard

Leave a Reply

