Thai Food, Veggie mains

Spicy Thai sweet potato & bean burgers


I had some leftover beans, red kidney and black beans, and some baked sweet potatoes so decided to make burgers with them. These are not as firm and meaty as my beetburgers but they are a very tasty way to use up some leftovers!

First I peeled the potatoes (2 medium sized ones) and mashed them with the beans (a good cupful). I finely chopped a smallish onion and fried it in some sesame oil to this I added a couple of crushed cloves of garlic and fried until they softened and added a tbsp of Thai red chilli paste and a couple of shredded kaffir lime leaves and a good splash of light soy sauce. I continued frying it until everything was mixed together and then added this to the bean mix. I also added some chopped coriander leaves and mashed everything together with a fork. (If you want firmer burgers add 2 or 3 tbsp of porridge oats to the mix.) I then formed the mix into four burgers and sprinkled them with sesame seeds and fried them. (If you are not in a rush then you can put them in the fridge For about 20 mins before frying them this will help keep them firm too.) I served them in a burger bun with salad and Siracha sauce.

Standard

Leave a Reply

