Snacks

Hummus with Asian flavours

I decided to make some hummus to take to a friend’s house, but as I didn’t any Thahini I decided to play a little with the flavours and give a more Asian twist. It made good nibbles before an Asian BBQ.

I had some leftover cooked chickpeas, about 2 cups, equivalent to about a can. I stated by roasting about 3 tbsp of sesame seeds in a dry pan until golden. I put these in my food forces sore and gave them a whiz. Then I  fried 4 large cloves of garlic that I lightly crushed in about 3 tbsp of sesame oil as they started to go golden I added 1/2 tsp of cumin seeds and a tsp of curry power. I fried for a few more seconds and then put this in the food processor too with a pinch of rock salt and blended it together. Then I added the chickpeas and the juice of a small lime and blended it then I added water little buy little, continuing blending, until I got a smooth consistency. I then put it in a bowl and drizzled on some chilli sesame oil, just sesame oil with some roster chilli in it, and a sprinkle of Nigella / black cumin seeds. If you don’t have these use some black or white sesame seeds instead. Serve with crudités, corn chips, pittas or papadums.

Standard

One thought on “Hummus with Asian flavours

Leave a Reply

