Edible gifts, Something sweet

Rum raisin chocolate treats


I made these to take to a Thanksgiving meal and they went down very well as an after dinner treat. They make a perfect edible gift. This will make 30 (not so) sweet treats. They reminded me of making chocolate cornflake crispies as a kid.
I began by soaking about 75g of raisins in 50ml of spiced rum. I left them for a few hours until most of the rum had been absorbed. Then I put the oven on 150 degrees C / 300 F and spread 75g of flaked almonds on a baking sheet and lightly toasted them until they began to turn golden.

Meanwhile I melted 200g of good quality plain chocolate in  a bowl over a pan of boiling water. Once the chocolate was melted I added the raisins and rum and the almonds and mixed them together. I spooned a teaspoon of the mixture into small Thai dessert moulds and then dusted them with some cocoa powder. If you don’t have any moulds you could probably just spoon them onto baking parchment and allow to set free form.

Standard

2 thoughts on “Rum raisin chocolate treats

Leave a Reply

