Soups

Cauliflower & sweet potato soup

 

This makes a hearty and healthy soup. I’ve spiced it with Indian flavours as I think they work so well with cauliflower and potatoes. You can use regular potatoes but I’ve used orange sweet potatoes for their sweetness, colour and healthy benefits.
I started by frying an onion in some coconut oil as this began to go translucent I added 3 tsp. of curry powder, 1 tsp. of turmeric, and half a tsp. chilli powder (optional) and fried this for a while. I then added 500g of sweet potato peeled and chopped into small pieces I also added 200g of chopped daikon radish (I like it in soups as it adds a peppery sweetness) you could leave this out if you can’t find it easily. I then added about 1.2 litres of vegetable stock, a tsp. of marmite (yeast extract), a tsp of sea salt and some ground pepper. I put the lid on and brought the soup to a boil and then simmered it for about 20 -30 mins until the potato and radish was softening. Then I added a cauliflower (about 600g) broken into florets. I then covered the soup and simmered for 10 minutes (you don’t want to overcook the cauliflower). Then I added a good handful of chopped coriander leaves and blended the soup with a hand blender. If the soup is too thick add a little more stock and check the seasonings and add more salt / pepper / spices if necessary.

To serve I drizzled some spiced oil on top, which really lifts the flavour. This was made from a about 4 tbsp. of coconut oil that I heated up and added 1 tsp. of cumin seeds, 1/2 tsp of chilli powder and 4 finely chopped cloves of garlic which I gently heated until, the garlic became golden.

 

Standard

Leave a Reply

