Drinks

Bubbles & brandy

bubbles

This is guaranteed to get your Christmas party going. I first had this was at a friend’s 21st birthday party and then I remember having them again in a hotel in the Blue Mountains in Australia stilling by a log fire. They were called Champagne Charlies, but I think a classic Champagne Charlie uses apricot brandy. I make mine with regular brandy. They are quick and easy to serve when lots of guests arrive at the same time at a party. I put a sugar cube in the bottom of several champagne flutes. Then as people arrive I pour some brandy into the glass, the amount depends a bit on the drinker as some people don’t like them too strong but no more than covering the sugar cube. Then I top the glass up with chilled sparkling wine. Most people come back for at least one more!

Standard

Leave a Reply

