Baking, Snacks

Veggie ‘sausage’ rolls

These were a real hit at our Christmas drinks party this year. The filling is similar to my Beetburger recipe, and they are a bit like mini versions of my beetroot Wellingtion. They tasted pretty meaty and spicy and are much tastier than using a meat substitute.

In a food processor I chopped an onion and a few cloves of garlic finely and then fried them in some olive oil. Then I finely chopped about 250g mushrooms and added them to the frying pan. Next I added a grated large beetroot and seasonings, some salt, a couple slugs of light (mushroom) soy sauce, half a tsp of chilli flakes / powder (mine is pretty spicy) and some herbs I used some dried thyme (sage would work too). Then I added a can of drained kidney beans that I mashed a bit and I fried this until most of the moisture that came out of the veggies cooked off. I allowed this to cool and meanwhile made some breadcrumbs. I used about 4 -5 slices of wholemeal bread and ground these in my food processor and then spread them on a baking try and put them in a low oven, about 150 degrees F / 300 C, for about 20 mins, turning them after 10 mins. This dries the breadcrumbs out which makes the sausage mix firmer. Then I chopped about 100g of cheese (I used Carré but goats cheese or Camembert or grated cheddar would be fine) and added this and the breadcrumbs to the veggie mix and mixed them well. I then chilled the mixture overnight in the fridge so that the breadcrumbs would absob the posture from the veggies. If you want to make them the same day then just chill the mixture for an hour or so.

Next roll out some puff pastry (you will probably need about 600-700g) into strips about 8 cm wide (you can make them bigger if you like but these were for a cocktail party) and put a ‘sausage’ of my mixture in the middle and ‘painted’ one edge with an egg and milk mixture and then rolled them over to seal them. Then I ‘painted’ the top with the egg mixture, pricked the top with a fork and cut them in to rolls. I sprinkled half of the with sesame seeds and put them on baking trays covered with baking parchment . Next I chilled them in the fridge for about 15 mins while I pre-heated the oven to 200 degrees C / 400 F. Then I cooked them in batches for about 15 -20 mins until golden and puffed up. Try not to open the oven while they are cooking. Once they are done cool them on a wire rack and put the next batch in the oven. Best enjoyed warm, but good once cooled too.

Standard

One thought on “Veggie ‘sausage’ rolls

  1. Pingback: Beetballs | copymydinner

Leave a Reply

