Baking, Something fruity, Something sweet

Leftover Christmas cake fruit cake


If you have some leftover Christmas cake that now seems a bit too rich why not turn it into a lighter fruit cake? I had about a third of my Christmas cake left and didn’t want to waste it but couldn’t face eating it as it was rich, moist (from a bit of overfeeding) and sweet with icing so I decided to turn it into a lighter fruit cake.

Start by pre-hearing your oven to 175 degrees C / 350 F. I beat 150g of softened unsalted butter and added two large eggs and beat them together. Then I grated in an apple and mixed it in. Next I sifted in 200g of plain (all purpose) flour and 2 tsp of baking powder. I then crumbled in the leftover Christmas cake and icing and put it in a lined bunt tin. I baked it for 40 mins and then turned the oven down as bit began to brown to 150 Degrees C / 300F and baked for another 30 mins until a skewer came out clean. I allowed it to cool in the tin for about 10 minutes then turned it out and allowed it to cool on a wire rack. I then glazed it with warm honey.

Standard

Leave a Reply

