Baking, Snacks

Cheese and herb soda bread scones

image

Like soda bread these are very easy to make and they’re even quicker to bake. Cheese scones were one of the first things I remember cooking in cookery classes at school when I was a kid.

I basically followed / adapted the soda bread recipe. To the dry ingredients, minus the sugar, I added some chopped fresh herbs (I used dill and chives as I have them in the garden), a tsp of wholegrain mustard, a clove of crushed garlic, some ground pepper, and the majority of 100 g of grated mature cheddar. I mixed these together. I used slightly less sour milk but added a beaten  egg to it. After mixing everything together I turned the dough out onto a floured surface and patted it so it was about 2 – 3 cms thick. I then used cookie cutter, a couple of different sizes to cut out the scones. Pat any cuttings back together and cut more scones.  I put them on a pre-heated pizza stone dusted with flour and brushed the top of the scones with the leftover milk and egg mix and sprinkled the remaining cheese over the top. I put them in the oven pre-heated to 225 degrees C / 450 F and then turned it down to 200 degrees C / 400 F and baked them for 20 mins until golden brown on top. Delicious when warm with butter or with a nice bowl of soup or stew!

 

Standard

3 thoughts on “Cheese and herb soda bread scones

  1. Pingback: Leftovers veggie stew | copymydinner

  2. Pingback: Plain scones | copymydinner

  3. Pingback: Classic cheese scones | copymydinner

Leave a Reply

