Soups

Spiced split pea & pumpkin soup

image

This is an Indian spiced split pea soup with pumpkin to give it some sweetness and body. It’s very hearty and warming for winter.

I chopped a couple of medium-sized red onions and fried them in about 4 – 5 tbsp of coconut oil in a thick bottomed saucepan. Meanwhile in my mortar and pestle I crushed 4 cloves of garlic with a smiler quantity of fresh ginger (peeled) and a tsp of sea salt. To this I added a tsp of the following, corriander seeds, cumin seeds and black pepper corns and crushed them together to make a paste. Once the onion started to soften I added the garlic / spice paste, a couple of curry leaves (optional), a tsp of turmeric and half a tsp of spicy chilli powder. I fried these together until the onions we’re golden and the spices has released their flavours into the oil. I then drained off most of the spice oil to drizzle on the finished soup. I added about 300g of rinsed yellow split peas and 1.5 liters of vegetable stock to the pan and brought it to the boil. To this I added 300g of coconut flesh and then covered the soup and simmered it for almost an hour until the peas were soft. You may need to add some more stock or water at this point you can also check the seasoning and adjust if necessary. Then I blended the soup with a hand blender and served it garnished with some plain youghurt (optional you could use coconut cream instead) a drizzle of the spice oil, and some chopped spring onions and corriander leaves. It’s perfect served with naan bread.

Standard

Leave a Reply

