Veggie mains

Pea, pumpkin & feta fritters

image

These make a great lunch or light supper perfect for a nice spring / summer’s day. This will make 8 good-sized fitters so enough for 4 servings.

So what do you need?

  • 300g pumpkin / butternut squash flesh (cooked)
  • 1 tbsp. plain yoghurt’
  • 1 free-range egg
  • 100g plain (all purpose) flour
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • black pepper
  • 1 tsp nigella seeds (optional)
  • 3 or 4 spring onions
  • 200g garden peas
  • 150g feta cheese
  • a handful of dill / mint leaves (or a mix)
  • 2tbsp. plain flour
  • 2tbsp. sesame seeds
  • vegetable oil

So what do you do?

I roasted my pumpkin as I had the oven on, alternatively you can steam it. I boiled the peas for a couple of minutes and then strained them. Meanwhile I put the pumpkin in a large mixing bowl and mashed it. I added the yoghurt, egg, salt, a good grinding of pepper, nigella seeds and mixed everything together. Next I added the flour and stirred it in. I then chopped up the spring onions and added them with the peas and crumbled in the feta and roughly chopped up some dill and mint leaves and added them. I mixed everything together you should have a pretty thick mixture. I put this in the fridge to rest for a while and it became a bit stiffer. I heated up some vegetable oil in a large frying pan, enough to just cover the bottom of the pan. I then put some flour and sesame seeds on a plate and scooped up a heaped tablespoon of the mixture and put it on the plate and formed a patty out of it making sure it was dusted all over in flour and put it on a try. I did this with the rest of the fritters. I then popped them in the frying pan on a medium heat and cooked them for 2 to 3 minutes on each side until brown. While they were cooking I made a quick salad with sunflower sprouts, tomatoes and red onions and served the fritters with this and some tzatziki.

 

 

 

Standard

Leave a Reply

