Something fruity, Something sweet

Mango mousse with passion fruit coulis


I love the combination of mangoes and passion fruit and they are both in season here at the moment. This is a lovely light mousse. The tartness of the passion fruit really makes it. This recipe will make 12 – 14 servings so cut the quanties in half if you want less.

I started by peeling 4 ripe mangoes, weighing about 1.2kgs, and I put the flesh in a food processor and blended it until it was smooth. I added 4 tbsp. icing sugar and 4 tbsp. Cointreau and blended them together and put it in the fridge. Then I beat 600ml of whipping cream until it was thick and made peaks. I then folded the mango pulp into the cream until it was all mixed together well. Next I spooned the mousse into 14 glasses. I tapped them on the work surface to get the mousse to settle. I cleaned up and drips from the edge of the classes with some kitchen paper and then covered the glasses with cling film and put them in the fridge. You should leave the mouse in the fridge for a couple of hours, at least.

Next I made the  the coulis. I scraped the pulp out of 12 juicy passion fruits and added 60g sugar and brought this to the boil then simmered it for about 10 minutes to reduce the liquid by almost half then I allowed it to cool.

To serve I spooned about a tablespoon or so of the coulis over each glass of mousse to cover the mousse completely and served with white chocolate and macadamia cookies.

Standard

Leave a Reply

