Baking, Something fruity, Something sweet, Tarts

Rustic apple & pecan tart

This is an autumnal variation on my rustic peach tart the pastry is made in the same way. For the filling I put a good handful of sultans in a large mixing bowl with about 4 tbsp. maple syrup to this I added about 5 or 6 freshly ground cloves and mixed them together and left to stand while I made my pastry. While the pastry was in the oven I pre-heated the oven with my pizza stone in it and peeled, cored and sliced 4 eating apples. I kept the apples in a bowl of water with lemon juice in it to stop them browning. Once my oven was hot I rolled out my pastry. I drained the apples and dried them in a clean tea towel and mixed them and a good handful of pecan nuts in with the sultanas and coated them all in the maple syrup. Then I put the pastry on the pizza stone and spread the apple mixture in the middle of it and quickly folded up the edges and put an egg and milk glaze on the crust. I then sprinkled over a tbsp. of brown sugar and baked the tart for 45 minutes until the pastry was golden brown. Serve warm with thick cream or vanilla ice cream

Standard

Leave a Reply

